Race Recap: Royal Parks Half Marathon

So this is coming to you a week late because I needed a break from talking about running, and I had a busy week catching up on life.

On Sunday (9th October) I ran the Royal Parks Half Marathon. My only goal for this race was to be better than my last race! (I think this would be anyone’s goal really).

I was running in a team of 6 for a charity (@HavenHouseCH), however 2 of the team were put in earlier corrals and stuck with that. So that left 4 of us running together. We waited in the cold start line at 9 am and took some pictures and then set off at 9:30am.

Me and my team mate Rachael whizzed through the bulk of people and got in a nice clear spot where we met up again and continued to run together. We ran like this for 10 miles and it was helpful and motivating to be running along side someone.

Our Charity, Haven House were situated around Mile 10. At this point we were starting to flag and I really could have used the cheer squad, unfortunately I missed seeing them but they saw me.

After running 10 miles continuously, which is something I’d not done thus far in training, I was flagging. I slowed down to a walk for thirty seconds but realised that my legs after 10 miles didn’t want to do this motion and quickly continued to run. As I approached the finish line I got the biggest cheer from my sister which pushed me to go the last 200m and cross the line!

I felt exhausted and emotional. It was all over! My hard work and training had all bee for this, and it was done.

I finished in a time of 2 hours 13 minutes and 34 seconds. Which I am so pleased with! I never imagined I would ever finish a half marathon in less than 2:30 let alone 2:15.

I came close to my team mates who were in the corral ahead of me, they finished in 2:09 and 2:13:13.

After completing the race, I met up with my family and team mates. We took a few pictures for the charity and went our separate ways.

I spent the afternoon eating (YASSS Fast Food) and binging on RuPaul’s Drag Race. I was lovingly gifted a few little presents by my sister to congratulate me on my combined efforts through these two races!

img_4816

My Legs were a little sore the following day but that soon went away! 🙂

I am so proud of my efforts and everything that running has taught me and brought into my life. I feel like a better version of myself and am much more confident in my own skin. I stuck to a challenge, pushed myself and it paid off!

img_4826

I plan to do many more in the future so watch this space.

For now I will take a break.

thanks

& See you Soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

