Happy International Women’s Day

I love TV and Films, I love Strong, bad-ass, empowering female Characters and the incredible females behind the scenes making these kick-ass ladies a reality. So in Honour of International women’s day here is a list of some of my Favourite Women from TV and Film.

image1.JPG

  1. Christina Yang, Grey’s Anatomy.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-31548-1439871944-5.gif

  1. Meredith Grey, Grey’s Anatomy.

large.jpg

Why I Love them: I LOVE GREY’S ANATOMY. I love the bond between these two characters, and I love that this show is created by a powerful female. I love Meredith and Christina’s realistic take on the world. There is nothing wrong with being an optimistic person but I most Identify with these characters for being realistic about their lives and choices. Not choosing to believe everything will be perfect is ok.

  1. Ally McBeal, Ally Mcbeal.

“I like being a mess. It’s who I am.” – Ally

“The truth is, I probably don’t want to be too happy or content, ’cause then what? I actually like the quest, the search. That’s the fun. The more lost you are, the more you have to look forward to. What do you know? I’m having a great time and I don’t even know it.” – Ally

Why I Love her: This one is my Mum’s influence. I grew watching this show with my mum. I love Ally for being a hopeless romantic and for embracing her quirks. I love the strong female friendships formed on this show and I too (like Ally) would like to have my own Pips singing my own theme tune getting me through life.

  1. Annalise Keating, How to get away with Murder.

Why I Love her: She is a Powerful women of colour on a Major TV show, her character constantly kicks ass in a male dominated field and she is damn right sassy and isn’t afraid of anyone. I want to be her, or at least as bold as her.

5. Amy Farrah-Fowler, Big Bang Theory.

Why I Love her: Along with the other girls in the Big Bang theory she proves that smart is the new sexy. Played by Mayim Bialik who in real life is a Neuroscientist also, I think she is a positive and influential lady both in and out of character.

  1. Katniss Everdeen, The Hunger Games.

Why I Love her: She volunteered for her sister. She outsmarted some of the cleverest people around. She stood up for what was right and basically fought for the little people. Also I wish I could shoot a bow and arrow like she can.

  1. Kimmy Schmidt, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

“Females are strong as hell.”

Why I Love her: I love this show, Thanks Tina Fey (another great Lady). I love the Character of Kimmy because she broken away from the life that she knew and reinvented herself. She is a strong, brave women in the modern world. She’s not afraid to be different or quirky and she empowers people to be themselves and follow their dreams. I love her innocence and optimism and the fresh take she has on the world.

  1. Jo March, Little Women.

Astonishing – Little Women the Musical

Why I Love her: I have read the book, watched the film and worked on the Musical at University and in all versions I can’t help but love Jo. She is such a brave character with a strong sense of self and sisterhood. She’s creative and shows how powerful a women can be.

  1. Maria Von Trapp, The Sound of Music.

Why I Love her: Growing up Sound of Music was a favorite in my household, Maria taught me that you can break the mold and that you aren’t always set for the path that you thought you were going to take. I also loved that she was a “problem” and “outcast” but found love and happiness in her own way.

  1. Leslie Knope, Parks and Recreation.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-20263-1441899446-5.gif

Why I Love her: So I’m currently bingeing on Parks and Recreation. I love Leslie’s optimism and spirit. She’s a go-getter, set on her dreams, who values her female friendships and stands up for equality and Amy Poehler is HILARIOUS!

Shout out to all the awesome ladies playing these characters, they are all brilliant actresses. I could go on for days with this list but I won’t.

Here’s to all the Wonderful Women around the World.

thanks

 

Here have some more Leslie Knope…

anigif_enhanced-buzz-24131-1441941163-5anigif_enhanced-buzz-21431-1441938969-5anigif_enhanced-buzz-26404-1439871030-11

 

Leave a Reply

